The Curriculum

We believe that children learn through structured play and by talking, both to each other and the adults around them.  We offer all our children a broad and balanced curriculum with challenging activities, materials and experiences to explore, both inside and outdoors.


The Early Years Foundation Stage curriculum is followed by all children in England, up to the end of their Reception year (about 6 years of age).  The Early Years Foundation Stage has seven areas of learning and development around which we plan and assess what our children do. However, these seven areas do not happen in isolation and it is very likely that in their play, children may be exploring learning in several different areas at once.

Characteristics of Effective Learning

The ways in which children engage with other people and their environment, playing and exploring, being active, creating and thinking critically underpin learning and development and support the child to remain an effective and motivated learner.

Our environment is very well resourced and we use the space for the children to enjoy learning, to be active and to become responsible and independent learners.

Prime Areas
Personal Social and Emotional Development
Communication and Language
Physical Development
Specific Areas
Understanding of the World
Expressive Arts and Design 

Curriculum pointer sheets for parents

Please find the curriculum sheets for the Spring term below


2017 Jan 23